Occitania is an expansive historic area now located within the modern countries of France, Spain, and Italy and shares an important history and legacy with the Pontifical States and the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome. During the time of the Roman Empire, it was mostly known as Aquitania. The earlist parts were known as Provincia Romana. After the Roman Empire, it was united under the Visigoths, as well as under the Merovingian and Carolingian Dynasties. 

The Occitan language was the first Romance language to develop from the Latin vulgate. There are between 500,000 and 800,000 million native speakers today. A region with a distinct and unique ethnic minority identity, Occitania was gradually conquered by the French Kings between the 13th to 17th centuries. Over that same time period, the Occitan language was slowly replaced with French. Other languages historically associated with the region are Italian, Spanish, and Catalán. The French Republic recognises Occitan as an official minority languages, and in 2016, the French government recognised the unique character of the region. Occitan was also among the languages spoken within the Pontifical States. 

How did the shared legacy occur?
Overlapping a major geographical section of Occitania was the Kingdom of Burgundy-Arles. This country formed after the collapse of the Western Roman Empire and was ruled successively by the Burgundians, the Merovingians, and the Carolingians. From the 10th to 11th centuries, it was at its greatest expanse and was also known as the Kingdom of Arles.

Map showing the approximate locations of
Occitania and the Kingdom of Burgundy

Avignon, where the Papacy resided for a number of years, is also located in the area of the historic Kingdom of Burgundy. The Houses of Arles and Ivrea, which ruled as Kings of Italy in the Holy Roman Empire, also had their origins in Burgundy. The House of Ivrea later moved to Spain, where they ruled in Barcelona, Castile y León, and Aragón. (The famous King Ferdinand and Queen Isabela were of a cadet branch of the House of Ivrea.)

Clement V, Pope-Prince of Rome
(One of the Avignon Popes)

The modern Pontifical States, the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, and His Holiness the Papa-Catholicos of Rome-Ruthenia are the heirs to the Burgundian Houses of Arles and the Spanish-Burgundian Houses of Ivrea in Imperial Italy. In fact, one of the four founders of the legacy of the Patriarchate is Bosone, King of Lower Burgundy and Imperial Vice-King of Italy who ruled from 879-887. 

Bosone d'Arles, King of Lower Burgundy and Imperial Vice-King of Italy

Today the modern Pontifical States and Anglican Patriarchate of Rome preserve the heritage of Occitania not only as living representatives of shared legacy, but also as spiritual shpeherds of the Lower-Gallican (or Gallo-Roman) Rite of the Church. This Rite was also used in Spain and Italy, particularly southern Italy, Tuscany, and northwestern Italy. It was also found in the British Isles since before the time of St. Augustine of Canterbury, credited as founder of the Anglican Rite. Pope St. Gregory the Great instructed that the Gallican Rite in Britain was to be respected. Gallican and Roman Rites came to be mixed, and this beautiful mixture can be credited as the basis of the Anglican Rite

Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate

The Stato Pontificio Romano constitutes an ecclesiastical sovereignty by right of Rome as heir to the Roman Empire with an independent government in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (as the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church). Additionally, the church descends from the See of Utrecht, which was granted autonomy in 1145 by Pope Eugene III and confirmed in 1520 by Pope St. Leo X in the Bull Debitum Pastoralis. As the sole successor of Pope St. Leo X and temporal successor of St. Peter the Apostle, the Catholicate and Patriarchate are fully Catholic and holds the same canonical authority as the Roman Communion (Vatican). The Catholicate and Patriarchate are the ecclesiastical successor to temporal Rome, the temporal patrimony of the Roman Empire claimed historically by right of the papacy. The succession passed to the Catholicate after Benedict XVI by right of Rome and Florence, with the Papa-Catholicos of Rome-Ruthenia with papal authority as temporal successor of St. Peter, and the Pope-Bishop of Rome as spiritual successor of St. Peter and de facto sovereign of the Vatican City-State. Although administratively independent, the Apostolic See embraces as brethren other Catholic, Orthodox, and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, Eastern Orthodox Churches, and the Anglican Communion. The Imperial Roman Church is defined as the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate, the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, and the churches of all Bishops recognised by the Catholicate. The governments of the modern republics of Italy, German, France, Switzerland, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, and the United States, and of the modern kingdoms of Great Britain and Spain, as well as the European Union and all other civil states, are not affiliated with the Stato Pontificio government in exile.






















Crown, International, and United States Copyright Held © 2008-2017, All Rights Reserved.