His Excellency d. Charles Daniel II Johnson
Count di S. Croce, Baron Johnson
Bailiff Grand Cross of the Eagle
Hereditary Deputy Grand Master of the Eagle

9 April 1946 – 3 August 2021

The Pontifical Court announces the death of His Excellency d. Charles Daniel II Johnson, Count of Santa Croce in the Holy Roman Empire and Hereditary Deputy Grand Master of the Order of the Eagle of Saint Stephen and Mary Immaculate on Ferretruria, 3 August 2021. The late Count was cousin of His Holiness Bishop Rutherford I. The Count was a professional educator with over 41 years of service and a lifelong record of community engagement. He was particularly noted for helping children. Among his many talents was riding the unicycle – a skill that he was always happy to teach to others. He is succeeded in his titles and offices in the Stato Pontificio Imperiale by his eldest son, His Excellency Count d. Charles Daniel III. He is survived by his wife, Her Excellency d. Rebecca and his other two children, the Countess d. Jennifer and the Count d. Andrew.






















The Stato Pontificio Romano constitutes an ecclesiastical sovereignty by right of Rome as heir to the Roman Empire with an independent government in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (as the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church). Additionally, the church descends from the See of Utrecht, which was granted autonomy in 1145 by Pope Eugene III and confirmed in 1520 by Pope St. Leo X in the Bull Debitum Pastoralis. As the sole successor of Pope St. Leo X and temporal successor of St. Peter the Apostle, the Catholicate and Patriarchate are fully Catholic and holds the same canonical authority as the Roman Communion (Vatican). The Catholicate and Patriarchate are the ecclesiastical successor to temporal Rome, the temporal patrimony of the Roman Empire claimed historically by right of the papacy. The succession passed to the Catholicate after Benedict XVI by right of Rome and Florence, with the Papa-Catholicos of Rome-Ruthenia with papal authority as temporal successor of St. Peter, and the Pope-Bishop of Rome as spiritual successor of St. Peter and de facto sovereign of the Vatican City-State. Although administratively independent, the Apostolic See embraces as brethren other Catholic, Orthodox, and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, Eastern Orthodox Churches, and the Anglican Communion. The Imperial Roman Church is defined as the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate, the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, and the churches of all Bishops recognised by the Catholicate. The governments of the modern republics of Italy, German, France, Switzerland, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, and the United States, and of the modern kingdoms of Great Britain and Spain, as well as the European Union and all other civil states, are not affiliated with the Stato Pontificio government in exile.