Religious and Military Order of Anna Alexandrovna
(Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, Stato Pontificio)




The Religious and Military Order of Anna Alexandrova is a religious-dynastic order that was instituted in honour of Grand Duchess Hanna, Princess of the Romans. It may be awarded to recognise those commissioned officers who exhibit either military excellence consistent with the doctrine of the Christian faith or who exhibit excellence in Christian humanitarian service. Also, all Grand Dukes and Grand Duchesses of Rome receive the Grand Cross of the order immediately upon receiving the title. All Grand Dukes/Duchesses of the blood receive the order immediately following their baptism. As a military dynatic order, it ranks immediately above the Pontifical Order of the Eagle. Recipients of the Grand Cross are automatically also named Bailiffs of the Pontifical Order of the Eagle. The patron saints of the order are St. Anne, mother of the Blessed Virgin, and St. Alexander Nevsky, Grand Prince of Kiev, of the Russian Rurikid dynasty.

There are 2 grades of the order:
Knight Grand Cross/Dame Grand Cross

Knight/Dame of Honour

The cross of the order is worn from a purple ribbon. The knights and dames grand cross use a sash in the ribbon over the left shoulder and a star in silver with a central red medallion, blue cross, and gold Roman eagle. Knights/Dames of Honour wear the cross of the order on a neck ribbon.

Grand Cross of the order

Star of the order

Knight of Honour of the order

Lapel Ribbons:
Knight Grand Cross and Knight of Honour

Saint Anne with the Blessed Virgin Mary


Saint Anne and Saint Joachim
with the young Blessed Virgin Mary


Saint Alexander Nevsky


Saint Alexander Nevsky is attended by two
Cardinals of the Roman Pontiff

Return to the orders page.


Nota Bene: These orders are given exclusively by the Anglican Patriarchate, Stato Pontificio as historic orders of the Stato Pontificio. H.H.E. the Papa-Prince of Rome holds the exclusive right to confer them.
They are distinct from the modern state orders given by the Vatican City-State.



























The Anglican Patriarchate (Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church) is an ecclesiastical sovereignty by right of Rome with an independent government in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council. Additionally, we descend from the See of Utrecht, which was granted autonomy in 1145 by Pope Eugene III and confirmed in 1520 by Pope Saint Leo X in the Bull Debitum Pastoralis, this right becoming known as the Leonine Privilege. As the sole successor of Pope Saint Leo X and temporal successor of St. Peter the Apostle in Italy and Britain, the Patriarchate is fully Catholic and holds the same canonical authority as the Roman Communion (Vatican). The Patriarchate is the ecclesiastical successor to temporal Rome, the temporal patrimony of the Roman Empire claimed historically by right of the papacy. The succession passed to the Patriarchate after Benedict XVI by right of Rome and Florence, with the Papa-Prince of Rome with papal authority as temporal successor of St. Peter, and the Pope-Bishop of Rome as spiritual successor of St. Peter and de facto sovereign of the Vatican City-State. Although administratively independent, the Apostolic See of the Patriarchate embraces as brethren other Catholic and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, and the Anglican Communion. The New Roman Communion is defined as the Anglican Patriarchate and the churches of all Bishops recognised by the Apostolic See.