Order of Saints George & Olga
(Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, Stato Pontificio)




The Order of Saints George and Olga is a religious-dynastic order of the Patriarchal Household of the Stato Pontificio Romano (Pontifical Roman State) given to gentlemen and ladies of high rank or office in recognition for significant service to the mission of Rome or the Pontifical Household. The order is subdivided into two divisions, one exclusively for gentlemen and the other exclusively for ladies. By statute, the gentlemen's division is under the leadership of the Grand Master, the Papa-Prince of the Romans, while the ladies' division is under the leadership of the Grand Mistress, the Princess of the Romans. Admission to each division is at the discretion of the Grand Master or Grand Mistress respectively. The order is generally only conferred upon nobles of the rank of Baron and above and General officers and its civil equivalent. It ranks immediately after the Pontifical Order of the Eagle. Membership also confers nobility ad vitam.  

The order is named in honour of its celestial patrons, Saint George the Martyr and Saint Olga of Kiev. St. George has many patronages, including knights, cavalry, and horsemen. He is a prominent figure in the history, patrimony, and traditions of the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome and the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate. The St. George cross is seen in the coats of arms of Barcelona and Trier, the insignia of the Pontifical Georgian College, and the flags of the Pontifical Walsingham Guard, among others. 

Saint Olga was Grand Princess consort of Kiev and ruled the Old Russian State (Kievan Rus') as Regent on behalf of her son after her husband was assassinated. She is highly regarded for her efforts to spread the Catholic faith in her territory, which culminated in her grandson, Saint Vladimir the Great, making the Christian faith the official religion. She is also an ancestress of several royal and noble houses in Central and Western Europe, including the French Capetian and Bourbon dynasties.

The order is given only in one rank, that of Knight or Dame. The insignia consists of a gold Roman Eagle centred upon a white eight-pointed cross with gold eagles in between. The cross is worn by Knights pendant from an orange and black striped neck ribbon, and by Dames pendant from a bow of the same ribbon. The colours are imperial yellow and black, with the yellow tinged with the red of the martyrs.

Gentleman's neck cross of the order

Insignia of the Dames of the Order

Lapel Ribbon

Return to the orders page.


Nota Bene: These orders are given exclusively by the Anglican Patriarchate, Stato Pontificio as historic orders of the Stato Pontificio. H.H.E. the Papa-Prince of Rome holds the exclusive right to confer them.
They are distinct from the modern state orders given by the Vatican City-State or any other state or dynastic house.



























The Anglican Patriarchate (Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church) is an ecclesiastical sovereignty by right of Rome with an independent government in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council. Additionally, we descend from the See of Utrecht, which was granted autonomy in 1145 by Pope Eugene III and confirmed in 1520 by Pope Saint Leo X in the Bull Debitum Pastoralis, this right becoming known as the Leonine Privilege. As the sole successor of Pope Saint Leo X and temporal successor of St. Peter the Apostle in Italy and Britain, the Patriarchate is fully Catholic and holds the same canonical authority as the Roman Communion (Vatican). The Patriarchate is the ecclesiastical successor to temporal Rome, the temporal patrimony of the Roman Empire claimed historically by right of the papacy. The succession passed to the Patriarchate after Benedict XVI by right of Rome and Florence, with the Papa-Prince of Rome with papal authority as temporal successor of St. Peter, and the Pope-Bishop of Rome as spiritual successor of St. Peter and de facto sovereign of the Vatican City-State. Although administratively independent, the Apostolic See of the Patriarchate embraces as brethren other Catholic and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, and the Anglican Communion. The New Roman Communion is defined as the Anglican Patriarchate and the churches of all Bishops recognised by the Apostolic See.