Roman-Ruthenian Order
of the Pontifical Imperial State
(United Roman-Ruthenian Church)


The Order of the Pontifical Imperial State was established by the bull Per Ministerio Ecclesiae in 2021
as a reorganisation of the previously-awarded Florentine Service Order. The order recognises significant
service to the modern Stato Pontificio Imperial, the United Roman-Ruthenian Church, 
humanity, or diplomatic or civil service. The patrons of the order are Saints Peter, Paul, Stephen, and Mark.

There are 3 grades of the order:
Knight Grand Cross/Dame Grand Cross

Knight Commander/Dame Commander

The insignia is worn from a yellow ribbon. The knights and dames grand cross use
a yellow sash worn over the right shoulder. The star, worn by holders of the 
grand cross, is a red St. Stephen cross of approxmately 80mm diameter, with a gold eagle
upon a red background within a gold circular wreath, centred on the cross.

Wear of Deocrations of the Pontifical and Imperial Orders

Grand Cross star of the order

Knight's MedalCommander's InsigniaGrand Cross Sash

Lapel Ribbons:
Knight Grand Cross, Commander, and Knight

Return to the orders page.

Nota Bene: These orders are given exclusively by the United Roman-Ruthenian Church, Stato Pontificio Imperiale di Roma-Ruthenia as historic orders of the Stato Pontificio. H.H. the Bishop of Rome-Ruthenia holds the exclusive right to confer them.
They are distinct from the modern state orders given by the Vatican City-State or any other state.



























The Stato Pontificio Romano constitutes an ecclesiastical sovereignty by right of Rome as heir to the Roman Empire with an independent government in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (as the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church). Additionally, the church descends from the See of Utrecht, which was granted autonomy in 1145 by Pope Eugene III and confirmed in 1520 by Pope St. Leo X in the Bull Debitum Pastoralis. As the sole successor of Pope St. Leo X and temporal successor of St. Peter the Apostle, the Catholicate and Patriarchate are fully Catholic and holds the same canonical authority as the Roman Communion (Vatican). The Catholicate and Patriarchate are the ecclesiastical successor to temporal Rome, the temporal patrimony of the Roman Empire claimed historically by right of the papacy. The succession passed to the Catholicate after Benedict XVI by right of Rome and Florence, with the Papa-Catholicos of Rome-Ruthenia with papal authority as temporal successor of St. Peter, and the Pope-Bishop of Rome as spiritual successor of St. Peter and de facto sovereign of the Vatican City-State. Although administratively independent, the Apostolic See embraces as brethren other Catholic, Orthodox, and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, Eastern Orthodox Churches, and the Anglican Communion. The Imperial Roman Church is defined as the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate, the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, and the churches of all Bishops recognised by the Catholicate. The governments of the modern republics of Italy, German, France, Switzerland, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, and the United States, and of the modern kingdoms of Great Britain and Spain, as well as the European Union and all other civil states, are not affiliated with the Stato Pontificio government in exile.