Imperial Roman Cross

The outer cross is a three-bar pontifical cross, a variation of the patriarchal cross. At its base are the "Chi Rho" Greek letters for Christ. Together that is sometimes used by itself, and the cross alone is seen in the sceptre of the coat of arms of the Papa-Catholicos. Inside the outer cross is the Eastern or Orthodox cross, also with three bars. On either side of the main bar are the letters in Russian/Cyrillic, "ИС ХС", for Jesus Christ. Above that are the Latin letters INRI, for the proclamation hung on the cross by Pontius Pilate, meaning "Jesus of Nazareth King of the Jews." (That shorter top bar of the orthodox cross represents that proclamation.) Then, above that, are the Greek letters "Alpha and Omega," and the Russian/Cyrillic letters, НИКА, from the Greek meaning victory. 

Pontifical Eagle

This is the most commonly-used emblem of the Church and the Pontifical Imperial State of Rome-Ruthenia. The pontifical eagle is a black, double-headed imperial eagle representing the Roman Empire. The eagle holds an orb, representing Christ's dominion over the world, and a sceptre with the three-barred pontifical cross. Each head of each eagle is crowned with a gold imperial crown. Above the entire eagle is the pontifical insignia, which is the tiara with a crossed apostolic key of St. Peter the Apostle and St. Stephen the Apostle and Deacon and sword of Sts. Mark and Paul.

Pontifical Insignia

The pontifical insignia is the triple-crown tiara with a crossed key and sword. The apostolic key represents St. Peter the Apostle and St. Stephen the Apostle and Deacon, and the sword is of both the Apostles Mark and Paul. The pontifical insignia is used in the pontifical eagle and the coats of arms. Sometimes it is used by itself.

Flag of the Pontifical Imperial State of Rome-Ruthenia

The flag of the Pontifical Imperial State is a combination of the colours of the Roman State (red and yellow) and the pan-slavic colours of the Pontifical Kingdom of Ruthenia (white, blue, red). Together these also form the traditional colours of the Pontifical Imperial Household. On the yellow field is the coat of arms of the Papa-Catholicos. This flag may be used by all affiliated with the Pontifical Imperial State and the Imperial Roman Church. The personal flag of the Papa-Catholicos is a variation of this flag. 

Flag of the Imperial Roman Church

The flag represents the entirety of the Imperial Roman Church, regardless of Rite. It is the traditional flag of the Roman State with the pontifical insignia on the red field.

Banner of Christus Omnipotens

The Banner of Christus Omnipotens is the banner of the Imperial Roman Church. When flown, it flies above all other flags. It consists of a depiction of Christ the Pantokrator on a red field. On either side are ten crosses of St. Stephen (in gold) arrayed around a gold pontifical eagle. 

See also:

Heraldry of the Papa-Catholicos

Flags of Church and State

[Main Page]

The Stato Pontificio Romano-Ruteno constitutes an ecclesiastical sovereignty by right of Rome as heir to the Roman Empire with an independent government in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (as the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church). Additionally, the church is of the Pontifical Orthodox Old Catholic faith and descends from the See of Utrecht, which was granted autonomy in 1145 by Pope Eugene III and confirmed in 1520 by Pope St. Leo X in the Bull Debitum Pastoralis. As the sole successor of Pope St. Leo X and temporal successor of St. Peter the Apostle, the Catholicate and Patriarchate are fully Catholic and holds the same canonical authority as the Roman Communion (Vatican). The Catholicate and Patriarchate are the ecclesiastical successor to temporal Rome, the temporal patrimony of the Roman Empire claimed historically by right of the papacy. The succession passed to the Catholicate after Benedict XVI by right of Rome and Florence, with the Papa-Catholicos of Rome-Ruthenia with papal authority as temporal successor of St. Peter, and the Pope-Bishop of Rome as spiritual successor of St. Peter and de facto sovereign of the Vatican City-State. Although administratively independent, the Apostolic See embraces as brethren other Catholic, Orthodox, and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, Eastern Orthodox Churches, and the Anglican Communion. The Imperial Roman Church is defined as the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate, the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, and the churches of all Bishops recognised by the Catholicate. The governments of the modern republics of Italy, German, France, Switzerland, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, and the United States, and of the modern kingdoms of Great Britain and Spain, as well as the European Union and all other civil states, are not affiliated with the Stato Pontificio government in exile.